Author Topic: Crutch Research  (Read 2840 times)

benjaminrigsby

Crutch Research
« on: July 24, 2015, 04:41:32 AM »
Hello All:

I am a graduate student in Mechanical Engineering, and the lab I work in has been working to improve the crutch. I am interested in getting feedback on user experiences as well as improvements we are working on. If anyone is interested in helping answer some questions, let me know! :) I'm just trying to gauge interest right now. Hoping some of you guys can share.

Sunshine

Re: Crutch Research
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2015, 08:25:31 AM »
I have CP and can't use crutches because the they are too light. I have wondered if weighting the lower end would make them easier to use eg a pendulum effect.

benjaminrigsby

« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2015, 09:04:30 AM »
Just so it's here, my contact is bsrigsby@mail.usf.edu (reposted with moderator permission).

One of the things I noticed from my limited experience with crutches was that it seemed like more weight would make them easier to control. Is that along the same lines you're thinking Sunshine? I'm an engineer, not a doctor. You'll have to pardon my ignorance. >biggrin<
« Last Edit: July 24, 2015, 03:52:44 PM by benjaminrigsby »

Yvette

« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2015, 10:16:42 AM »
Thomas Fetterman crutch tips are very heavy.  Perhaps that might help?

http://www.mustgetit.co.uk/pages/main.php

Sunshine

« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2015, 05:54:50 PM »
Ben,

I think it depends on why a person needs to use crutches or for that matter a walking stick. Cerebral Palsy is a neurological condition and so fine motor control is more difficult, also doing something that is repetative causes ever increasing muscles spasms eg when I am trying to walk my legs to tighten up and I trip over. If the core of the crutch or walking stick had weight that moved up when the crutch/stick was taken off the floor and then back down on the downstroke it might help get it in the right place at the right time.

Yvette,