Author Topic: Welfare Rights  (Read 1984 times)

SunshineMeadows

• Administrator
  • Super Hero Member
Welfare Rights
« on: February 09, 2012, 04:29:31 PM »
I know a lot of us know about claiming welfare benefits from our own experiences, and this does mean we have some knowledge of welfare rights, however in terms of me asking for volunteers is there anyone who has training or has worked in welfare rights who would like to volunteer to help on the new Welfare Rights category on Ouch Too?

Monic1511

• Moderator Welfare Rights
Re: Welfare Rights
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2012, 07:39:51 PM »
Hi Sunshine
Im a Assistant welfare rights officer - just means I deal with basic cases - anything at tribunal stage is too complex.
I try to answer posts on here when I see them & will continue to do this
Monic

SunshineMeadows

• Administrator
  • Super Hero Member
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2012, 12:19:27 PM »
Monic,

I am still in the process of setting up the Welfare Rights section up, but when I decided to do it I was thinking that people like you, Kizzy and Deb would (hopefully) be able to help out.

I do know various aspects of welfare rights but I dont have any training and so having volunteers who do have training and experience is going to make what we are trying to do more achievable.

There are a lot of disabled and sick people who won't see the changes are coming until they get a brown envelope in the post, and I am hoping Ouch Too will be able to help people who find their way here.
 :-)

WheeledTraveler

• Charter Member and Volunteer
  • Gold Member
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2012, 03:55:48 PM »
I know I'm a little late (there was some family stuff going on that ate my energy for the past month), but would you like me to provide any US benefit information in the Welfare Rights section? I was going to post something in the Other Benefits section, but wasn't sure if you wanted to keep it UK-only.

SunshineMeadows

• Administrator
  • Super Hero Member