Author Topic: Letter Template for E-Mailing The Lords.  (Read 2867 times)

Dark_Divinity

  • Charter Member and Volunteer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1339
Letter Template for E-Mailing The Lords.
« on: January 15, 2012, 12:07:52 PM »
Dear ..........[insert name of peer]

 A fourth day of report stage is scheduled for 17 January.

Rather unusually, many aspects of the bill are yet to be finalised or fully detailed. This in itself will, I'm sure, makes your job rather difficult as you consider the many, many details and changes proposed.

 However, I'm writing to you with some very specific concerns that sick and disabled people have and I've linked to some articles and research which I hope you will find helpful. (Responsible Reform Report).

 Scrapping DLA entirely and replacing it with Personal Independent Payments (PIPs).[/b]
 DLA is a very effective benefit with fraud rates of less than 1% (DWP own figures) It is already incredibly hard to claim and the qualification criteria are very narrow. The government have announced that DLA claimants will also soon face assessment and that the overall number of claimants will be reduced by at least 20%. The government's own advisory committee concluded that they could find no justification for this reform and have asked for clarification from the government.
 If a benefit is already very efficient, yet a government announce a 20% cull before a single assessment has even taken place, we conclude it can only be a cost cutting measure that will ignore genuine need.

  There are other problems with the bill - capping housing benefit; re-classifying "mobility" so that those who use their wheelchairs too efficiently can be classed as "fully mobile"; removing an age related payment from ESA; scrapping the Independent Living Fund; cutting community care provision; cutting the Access to Work programme and many more - all of which will hurt sick and disabled people disproportionately, but the above point above MUST be addressed before the Welfare Reform Bill is passed.

 PIP will cause real hardship.
 PIP will not achieve savings as pressures will only be shifted to the NHS or social care provision.
 PIP will increase homelessness, mental illness and poverty amongst this most vulnerable group of all
PIP will leave many in genuine need without support
PIP reduce the independence, standard of life and dignity of those we have a basic duty to protect.

 I urge you to give these issues your time and consideration. Please, help us by asking for a pause in the progress of replacing DLA with PIP.

 Yours sincerely,

 ...............[add your name]

http://diaryofabenefitscrounger.blogspot.com/2011/09/template-letter-to-lords-over-welfare.html

As we are all focusing on DLA now, I assume that is would be okay to remove the ESA bits from the letter template, yes?


Editted by Hoss, There may be more to do on this.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2012, 01:22:02 PM by hossylass »
June 2012 -Hypothyroidism.

Mentally Wobbly.

Dark_Divinity

  • Charter Member and Volunteer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1339
Re: Letter Template for E-Mailing The Lords.
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2012, 12:15:42 PM »

Addington, Lord    Liberal Democrat                            Lord Addington   addingtond@parliament.uk
Alderdice, Lord    Liberal Democrat                             alderdicej@parliament.uk
Allan of Hallam, Lord    Liberal Democrat               allanr@parliament.uk
Alliance, Lord    Liberal Democrat                               
Ashdown of Norton-sub-Hamdon, Lord    Liberal Democrat                    ashdownp@parliament.uk
Avebury, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                                           
Barker, Baroness    Liberal Democrat                                           barkere@parliament.uk
Benjamin, Baroness    Liberal Democrat                                      benjaminf@parliament.uk
Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury, Baroness    Liberal Democrat             bonhamcarterj@parliament.uk
Bradshaw, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                               
Brinton, Baroness    Liberal Democrat                                              brintons@parliament.uk
Burnett, Lord    Liberal Democrat
Carlile of Berriew, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                           carlilea@parliament.uk
Chidgey, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                                         chidgeyd@parliament.uk
Clement-Jones, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                      clementjonest@parliament.uk
Cotter, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                                 cotterb@parliament.uk
Dholakia, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                   dholakian@parliament.uk
Doocey, Baroness    Liberal Democrat                   
Dykes, Lord    Liberal Democrat
Ezra, Lord    Liberal Democrat
Falkner of Margravine, Baroness    Liberal Democrat                     falknerk@parliament.uk
Fearn, Lord    Liberal Democrat
Garden of Frognal, Baroness    Liberal Democrat                    gardens@parliament.uk
German, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                Lord German   germanm@parliament.uk
Glasgow, Earl    Liberal Democrat
Goodhart, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                              goodhartw@parliament.uk
Greaves, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                                    greavesa@parliament.uk
Hamwee, Baroness    Liberal Democrat                                                hamwees@parliament.uk
Harris of Richmond, Baroness    Liberal Democrat                                      harrisa@parliament.uk
Hussain, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                             
Hussein-Ece, Baroness    Liberal Democrat                                        ecem@parliament.uk
Jolly, Baroness    Liberal Democrat
Jones of Cheltenham, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                   jonesn@parliament.uk
Kirkwood of Kirkhope, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                     
Kramer, Baroness    Liberal Democrat                                                    kramers@parliament.uk
Lee of Trafford, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                          leej@parliament.uk
Lester of Herne Hill, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                 lestera@parliament.uk
Linklater of Butterstone, Baroness    Liberal Democrat                            linklaterv@parliament.uk
Loomba, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                                      loombar@parliament.uk
Macdonald of River Glaven, Lord    Liberal Democrat                     
Maclennan of Rogart, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                  maclennanr@parliament.uk
Maddock, Baroness    Liberal Democrat                                           maddockd@parliament.uk                                             
Mar and Kellie, Earl    Liberal Democrat
Marks of Henley-on-Thames, Lord    Liberal Democrat                          marksj@parliament.uk
McNally, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                                            mcnallyt@parliament.uk
Methuen, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                                            methuenr@parliament.uk
Miller of Chilthorne Domer, Baroness    Liberal Democrat                         millers@parliament.uk
Newby, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                                              newbyr@parliament.uk
Nicholson of Winterbourne, Baroness    Liberal Democrat
Northover, Baroness    Liberal Democrat                                              northoverl@parliament.uk
Oakeshott of Seagrove Bay, Lord    Liberal Democrat                              oakeshottm@parliament.uk
Palmer of Childs Hill, Lord    Liberal Democrat                               palmerm@parliament.uk
Parminter, Baroness    Liberal Democrat                                         parminterk@parliament.uk
Phillips of Sudbury, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                         
Randerson, Baroness    Liberal Democrat                                   randersonj@parliament.uk
Razzall, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                                 
Redesdale, Lord    Liberal Democrat
Rennard, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                                  rennardc@parliament.uk
Roberts of Llandudno, Lord    Liberal Democrat                             robertsr@parliament.uk
Rodgers of Quarry Bank, Lord    Liberal Democrat                           
Sandberg, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                             
Scott of Needham Market, Baroness    Liberal Democrat                         scottrc@parliament.uk
Sharkey, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                     
Sharman, Lord    Liberal Democrat
Sharp of Guildford, Baroness    Liberal Democrat                              sharpm@parliament.uk
Shipley, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                                      shipleyj@parliament.uk
Shutt of Greetland, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                      shuttd@parliament.uk
Smith of Clifton, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                      smitht@parliament.uk
Steel of Aikwood, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                     
Stephen, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                                       stephenn@parliament.uk
Stoneham of Droxford, Lord    Liberal Democrat                               
Storey, Lord    Liberal Democrat
Strasburger, Lord    Liberal Democrat
Taverne, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                                       
Taylor of Goss Moor, Lord    Liberal Democrat
Teverson, Lord    Liberal Democrat
Thomas of Gresford, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                       thomasm@parliament.uk
Thomas of Walliswood, Baroness    Liberal Democrat                                 thomass@parliament.uk
Thomas of Winchester, Baroness    Liberal Democrat           Baroness Thomas of Winchester   thomascm@parliament.uk
Tonge, Baroness    Liberal Democrat                                                                 tongej@parliament.uk
Tope, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                                              topeg@parliament.uk
Tordoff, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                                            tordoffg@parliament.uk
Tyler of Enfield, Baroness    Liberal Democrat                                     
Tyler, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                                          tylerp@parliament.uk
Vallance of Tummel, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                 
Wallace of Saltaire, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                               wallacew@parliament.uk
Wallace of Tankerness, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                          wallacej@parliament.uk
Walmsley, Baroness    Liberal Democrat                                                    walmsleyj@parliament.uk
Watson of Richmond, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                           
Williams of Crosby, Baroness    Liberal Democrat                                              williamss@parliament.uk
Willis of Knaresborough, Lord    Liberal Democrat                                                 willisg@parliament.uk



Archer of Weston-Super-Mare, Lord    Non-affiliated (current Member)
Bhatia, Lord    Non-affiliated (current Member)                                                   bhatiaa@parliament.uk
Black of Crossharbour, Lord    Non-affiliated (current Member)
Brabazon of Tara, Lord    Non-affiliated (current Member)                                       brabazoni@parliament.uk
Collins of Mapesbury, Lord    Non-affiliated (current Member)               
D'Souza, Baroness    Non-affiliated (current Member)                                                 lordspeaker@parliament.uk
Hanningfield, Lord    Non-affiliated (current Member)
Jacobs, Lord    Non-affiliated (current Member)
Kalms, Lord    Non-affiliated (current Member)
Paul, Lord    Non-affiliated (current Member)
Prys-Davies, Lord    Non-affiliated (current Member)
Roper, Lord    Non-affiliated (current Member)                                     roperj@parliament.uk
Smith of Finsbury, Lord    Non-affiliated (current Member)                       smithcr@parliament.uk
Taylor of Warwick, Lord    Non-affiliated (current Member)                         taylorjdb@parliament.uk
Truscott, Lord    Non-affiliated (current Member)
Watson of Invergowrie, Lord    Non-affiliated (current Member)
Young of Old Scone, Baroness    Non-affiliated (current Member)                  youngb@parliament.uk


Amos, Baroness    Other                            amosv@parliament.uk
Ashton of Upholland, Baroness    Other           
Barber of Tewkesbury, Lord    Other                         
Bridges, Lord    Other
Brown of Eaton-under-Heywood, Lord    Other
Carter of Barnes, Lord    Other                                      carterst@parliament.uk
Chalfont, Lord    Other
Cholmondeley, Marquess    Other
Clark of Calton, Baroness    Other
Clarke of Stone-cum-Ebony, Lord    Other
Goff of Chieveley, Lord    Other
Hale of Richmond, Baroness    Other
Hardie, Lord    Other
Hooson, Lord    Other
Hope of Craighead, Lord    Other
Judge, Lord    Other
Kerr of Tonaghmore, Lord    Other
Kilpatrick of Kincraig, Lord    Other
Kingsdown, Lord    Other
Ludford, Baroness    Other
Mackay of Drumadoon, Lord    Other
Mackie of Benshie, Lord    Other
Mance, Lord    Other                                                  mancej@parliament.uk
McCarthy, Lord    Other
Neuberger of Abbotsbury, Lord    Other
Northfield, Lord    Other
Phillips of Worth Matravers, Lord    Other
Platt of Writtle, Baroness    Other
Prior, Lord    Other
Randall of St Budeaux, Lord    Other
Sainsbury of Preston Candover, Lord    Other
Salisbury, Marquess    Other
Simon of Highbury, Lord    Other
Uddin, Baroness    Other
Vadera, Baroness    Other
Walker of Gestingthorpe, Lord    Other


Wigley, Lord    Plaid Cymru                             
Pearson of Rannoch, Lord    UK Independence Party
Willoughby de Broke, Lord    UK Independence Party                   willoughbyl@parliament.uk
Empey, Lord    Ulster Unionist Party                                                empeyr@parliament.uk
Laird, Lord    Ulster Unionist Party                                                lairdj@parliament.uk
Maginnis of Drumglass, Lord    Ulster Unionist Party                            maginnisk@parliament.uk
Rogan, Lord    Ulster Unionist Party

Rooker, Lord       Independant Labour                          rookerj@parliament.uk
Lord Watson of Invergowrie     Independent Labour               watsonm@parliament.uk
[/size]

« Last Edit: January 15, 2012, 12:20:39 PM by Dark_Divinity »
June 2012 -Hypothyroidism.

Mentally Wobbly.

Dark_Divinity

  • Charter Member and Volunteer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1339
Re: Letter Template for E-Mailing The Lords.
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2012, 03:04:32 PM »
Do you need to include you address or that area that you live in, like you do when e-mailing your local MP?
June 2012 -Hypothyroidism.

Mentally Wobbly.

hossylass

  • Guest
Re: Letter Template for E-Mailing The Lords.
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2012, 03:15:35 PM »
No you dont, but you can if you want to.

Dark_Divinity

  • Charter Member and Volunteer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1339
Re: Letter Template for E-Mailing The Lords.
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2012, 08:44:34 PM »
Lords members e-mailed so far. 15 Jan
-----------------------------
Lord Addington        <>  Baroness Garden
Lord Alderdice          <>  Baroness Falkner
Lord Allan                 <>  Lord Dholakia

Lord Ashdown           <> Lord Cotter
Baroness Barker        <> Lord Clement-Jones
Baroness Benjamin    <> Lord Chidgey

Baroness Bonham-Carter
Baroness Brinton
Lord Carlile

Lords members e-mailed so far. 16 Jan
-----------------------------------------
Lord German    <>  Lord Jones
Lord Goodhart  <>  Baroness Kramer
Lord Greaves   <>  Lord Lee

Lord Lester         <>  Lord Maclennan
Baroness Linklater  <>  Lord Marks
Lord Loomba         <>  Lord McNally

Lord Methuen     <>  Baroness Northover
Baroness Miller  <>  Lord Oakeshott
Lord Newby       <>  Lord Palmer
« Last Edit: January 16, 2012, 01:39:48 PM by Dark_Divinity »
June 2012 -Hypothyroidism.

Mentally Wobbly.

hossylass

  • Guest
Re: Letter Template for E-Mailing The Lords.
« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2012, 01:46:02 AM »
New Lords list is on a stickied thread of its own.

Dark_Divinity

  • Charter Member and Volunteer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1339
Re: Letter Template for E-Mailing The Lords.
« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2012, 11:17:05 AM »
I just realised that the letter I posted and am using is from September 2011. >yikes<

And now has just realised there is absolutely no flipping reason to panic.

As I have just gone through the letter that I have used to e-mail The Lords with and it is fine.

I think I should nip off, sort out a hot water bottle for my feet and some coffee for my stupid brain who likes to
over-react and scare the  >whistle< out of me.
 >doh<
« Last Edit: January 16, 2012, 11:45:14 AM by Dark_Divinity »
June 2012 -Hypothyroidism.

Mentally Wobbly.

Dark_Divinity

  • Charter Member and Volunteer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1339
Re: Letter Template for E-Mailing The Lords.
« Reply #7 on: January 16, 2012, 01:40:12 PM »
New Lords list is on a stickied thread of its own.

Okay, thanks.
June 2012 -Hypothyroidism.

Mentally Wobbly.

Hurtyback

  • Moderator 3am board
  • Super Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5800
Re: Letter Template for E-Mailing The Lords.
« Reply #8 on: January 16, 2012, 02:22:36 PM »
DD, you are doing a great job,  >thankyou<

Dark_Divinity

  • Charter Member and Volunteer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1339
Re: Letter Template for E-Mailing The Lords.
« Reply #9 on: January 16, 2012, 02:34:08 PM »
DD, you are doing a great job,  >thankyou<

My bladder seems to think otherwise, apparently I must be punished and forced to go back and forth to that oh so familair room. :-(

We are all pulling together and doing our bit, so thank-you to everyone.   >bighugs<
June 2012 -Hypothyroidism.

Mentally Wobbly.

Dark_Divinity

  • Charter Member and Volunteer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1339
Re: Letter Template for E-Mailing The Lords.
« Reply #10 on: January 16, 2012, 05:47:24 PM »
Lords members e-mailed so far. 16 Jan
-----------------------------------------
Baroness Parminter <> Baroness Randerson
Lord Rennard       <> Lord Roberts
Baroness Scott     <> Baroness Sharp

Lord Shipley       <> Lord Shutt
Lord Smith         <> Lord Stephen
Lord Thomas        <> Baroness Thomas

Baroness Tonge     <> Lord Tope
Lord Tordoff       <> Lord Tyler
Lord Wallace       <> Baroness Walmsley

Baroness D'Souza
Willoughby de Broke
Lord Taylor
June 2012 -Hypothyroidism.

Mentally Wobbly.