Tax and permitted earnings on ESA

• 6 Replies

Marmalade

Tax and permitted earnings on ESA

• on: 04 Jun 2012 03:45PM
Hello everyone. I am new to this forum so I hope I'm posting in the right place.  My daughter is an active member of this forum and has found is really valuable, and says I should ask for advice here.

I am in receipt on ESA (since October 2010) and have been put into the support group.  I also get DLA at the higher rate for mobility and the highest rate for care.

I have been doing voluntary work for a charity for over 18 months now.  I always do  less than 16 hours a week, and the charity pays me for my petrol getting to and from their premises (they are 25 miles away so without petrol costs I woulsn't be able to afford to do it).

In May 2011 the charity offered me some paid work, and after some negotiation it was agreed that they would pay me for 6 hours a week (which took me up to just under 95 a week) and I would also continue to do some voluntary work for them, making sure that my total hours (paid plus voluntry) remained under 16 hours a week.  I contacted JCP and they gave me their approval that my work was allowable under the permitted earning rules.