Re change of circumstance for DLA

• 11 Replies

Silverstar

• Diamond member

Re change of circumstance for DLA

• on: 15 Aug 2013 10:17AM
Hi
Newbie here, please can you tell me how to go about increasing my DLA award from low rate care to middle rate. I also get high rate mobility and ESA in the support group.

I am very concerned I could lose my care/mobility award altogether if I pursue this but my care needs have definitely increased in the time since my DLA award was originally set (2008). It was renewed in 2010 indefinitely.

Does anyone know how likely it is the the DWP could take all or part of my DLA away if I decide to pursue this? Many thanks.

KizzyKazaer

• Global Moderator
  • Super Hero Member

Re: Re change of circumstance for DLA

• on: 15 Aug 2013 12:08PM
Hi again Silverstar - I'm afraid there's no way of knowing for anyone which way the decision will go, ie what the possibility is of losing the existing award (it's always a risk when asking for DLA to be 'moved up a level') -  but you can greatly improve your chances if you can supply letters of evidence from anyone involved in your health condition (GP, consultant, physio, etc) which confirm that your care needs now meet the criteria for middle rate care.  Here's some extra information so you can see where your own claim might 'fit' the requirements: (source: NHS Choices http://www.nhs.uk/CarersDirect/moneyandlegal/disabilitybenefits/Pages/DisabilityLivingAllowance.aspx

To get the middle rate care component of Disability Living Allowance (DLA) a person's disability must be severe enough for them to:

- need attention, which includes help with things such as washing, dressing or eating; help with communication; encouraging to look after themself or prompting to do something; or help with reading if they have a visual impairment

- need supervision to avoid them putting themself or others in substantial danger

- need someone with them when they are on dialysis

The middle rate of DLA is paid if: