ESA student and offered part-time work

• 10 Replies

Breathing!

ESA student and offered part-time work

• on: 25 Jun 2015 12:00PM
Hello
This is my first post on a forum so I hope it's OK. I have gone to my local CAB but the adviser I saw doesn't seem to know anything or care, and was even hostile.
I am a part-time PhD student with a chronic long-term illness, I find my studies extremely hard with my low energy levels. But I study with the hope of being well-enough to get a good job one day and come off benefits.
I am in the ESA support group, and get some housing benefit (but have to pay bedroom tax), and receive council tax benefit. I do not receive PIP or any other benefit.
My question or problem is this : My university has asked me to apply to teach as a graduate teaching assistant, so I applied and am waiting for the result. At the same time I was contacted by a teaching agency asking me if I wanted to work for two hours a week teaching something locally, so I applied for that, then the next day they suggested more little courses I could teach, so not wanting to turn down work, I applied for everything!
Now I am in a panic while I wait for the result because:

1. If I got all this work, I'd have to give up my studies as I am not well enough to do both substantial part-time work and part-time study.

2. If I continue with my studies and I get offered to teach ONE course to teach, I might manage, but then I'd be paid something like 44 a week for 27 weeks of the year. How does that affect my benefits in the ESA support group?

3. If I gave up my studies and tried to teach for  4 to 6 hours a week I'd get paid maybe around 100 a week for 27 weeks in the year. This would be great but would I lose my benefits?

Can someone give me some advice or your experience?